The Mitochondrial Medicine Society

Advancing education, research, and global collaboration in clinical mitochondrial medicine

Founded in 2000 by doctors Richard Haas and Robert Naviaux, the MMS represents an international group of physicians, researchers and clinicians working towards the better diagnosis, management, and treatment of mitochondrial disease.

Current Officers

  • President, Amy Goldstein, MD, Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Secretary-Treasurer, Lisa Emrick, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX
  • Program Chair, Fernando Scaglia, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

MMS Board: Mary Kay Koenig, Amel Karaa, Mark Korson along with Past-President Sumit Parikh

Past Presidents:

  • Robert Naviaux MD, PhD
  • Richard Haas MD
  • Bruce Cohen MD
  • Russ Saneto MD
  • Sumit Parikh MD